A Picnic and Some Awards!

The OCWC was invited to yesterday’s annual chapter picnic of the Seth Green Chapter of Trout Unlimited. It was very fun, and we got to see some folks we worked with on the Oatka Creek Park tree project, as well as meet some folks we hadn’t had the pleasure of meeting before.



Sally Dwyer presenting award to Dave


Dave Agness was awarded the John J. Dwyer Coldwater Conservation Award, named for the Chapter’s founder. Dave gave a quick, but remarkable description of some of the efforts in which he has been involved over a number of years. This award is given to people who have, through their long time efforts, created benefits for the natural environment, the fishing community, and society.








Alan talks about some of his experiences “putting the right fish in the right place at the right time

Alan Mack, who just retired last month from his position of Superintendent of Fisheries at the Caledonia Fish Hatchery, was presented with the “Order of the Baetis” (mayfly) award. Seth Green TU President Larry Charette explained that though Alan was not a member of the organization, the chapter wanted to recognize his outstanding contribution in coldwater fisheries conservation. A few of us even got to taste Alan’s homemade organic wine!









TU Directors are also recognized, and Jim Strong was voted as a Director in perpetuity (or was it emeritus?) – anyway, they want him to stay! – You will notice our own Rick VenVertloh on the right!


Larry also talked a bit about the Chapter’s accomplishments for the year, and explained that first, and foremost – Trout Unlimited is more than a fishing club,  it is a conservation organization that works to protect and restore coldwater habitats. The membership has been growing and he noted that the Seth Green Chapter had the second highest female membership of all chapters in the State!








Thank you, Seth Green TU for the invitation!


Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *